Exceptions for members in disaster areas of South Carolina

The South Carolina director of insurance has issued an emergency order for Nationwide Insurance members in Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Beaufort, Berkley, Calhoun, Charleston, Chesterfield, Clarendon, Colleton, Darlington, Dillon, Dorchester, Florence, Georgetown, Hampton, Horry, Jasper, Lee, Malboro, Marion, Orangeburg, Sumter and Williamsburg counties who were affected by Hurricane Matthew. The order addresses moratoriums on cancellation and provides other safeguards for members affected by the storm.

Moratorium on cancellation and non-renewals

If you received a termination notice from us between October 4, 2016 and December 7, 2016 and would like additional time to pay or find other coverage, please contact your agent or Nationwide representative. If your policy was cancelled for non-payment of premium during this time period, we will rescind the cancellation.

We also will not cancel or non-renew policies solely because of claims resulting from the weather event.